Gooey Milky Way Cookie Bars

Remember that Milky Way Ganache from Tuesday that I made to top my Classic Buttery Pound Cake? I had some leftover, and I couldn’t possibly let that edible and legal equivalent of crack go to waste. So, I whipped up a batch of soft and chewy cookie bars then drowned them in my Milky Way Ganache. Thus, my friends, you have Gooey Milky Way Cookie Bars.

These babies are gooey in more ways than one. First, you have the Milky Way Ganache, which is basically the definition of ooey gooey. But the layer of cookie bar has its own sort of gooey goodness too, the key to which is making sure you don’t over-bake. However, you still get a great balance of textures since the cookie layer is substantial and chewy, while the ganache layer melts away on your tongue.

Now, it’s hard to say who is the star of the show here. I, of course, am infatuated with my Milky Way Ganache. Smooth, caramel-filled Milky Ways are my favorite candy, but then I get to enjoy them melted down into a velvety sauce. It’s good enough to eat with a spoon alone. But that cookie bar is divine as well, with a deep, buttery flavor and caramely undertones from dark brown sugar. I’d say this is a dynamic duo; they’re equally wonderful.

The second you sink you teeth in, Coldplay bursts into you brain singing, “Para-para…paradise.” I don’t even like that song, but there is no better way to describe the moment. My boss had one and said they were “to die for.” I agree wholeheartedly.

A Few Tips Before You Get Cooking:

  1. As I mentioned, it’s  very important not to over-bake your cookie bars, or they’ll be crunchy and dry.
  2. I don’t recommend substituting light brown sugar. It alters the texture and won’t give you as deep and dark a flavor.
  3. Mix as little as possible to keep that texture gooey and chewy. Overmixing makes it more cake-like.
  4. Watch my video for how to make the ganache.
  5. The ganache recipe is cut in half from the original, but feel free to double it to yield the full batch and save the extra for whatever use you please (like topping ice cream!).

Gooey Milky Way Cookie Bars

Ingredients:

For the cookie bar layer
From Smitten Kitchen

  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) butter, melted
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

For the Milky Way Ganache
By The Smart Cookie Cook

  • 1 1/2 cups chopped Milky Ways
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream

Directions:

  1. Butter an 8×8 pan and line with parchment paper so that it hangs over the edges. Mix melted butter with brown sugar and beat until smooth. Beat in egg and then vanilla on lowest possible speed just until incorporated. Do not mix more than necessary.
  2. Mix in salt and flour until just combined. Pour into prepared pan and spread out in an even layer Bake at 350°F 20-25 minutes, or until set in the middle. You’re better off pulling it out earlier than you think it’s done.
  3. Let cool completely on wire rack.
  4. While the cookie layer finishes cooling, make the ganache. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, continuously stir Milky Ways and cream until the candy starts to melt. Switch to a wire whisk and continue mixing to make sure it doesn’t burn. Let cook until completely smooth. Immediately remove from heat.
  5. Let sit for 5 minutes then pour over cookie bar layer and smooth out. Place in fridge until set. Use the parchment paper overhang to remove the cookies from the tray and place on cutting board. Chop into bars and enjoy.